My parenting philosophy.

My parenting philosophy is pretty simple. Do what works. That’s it. Do what works for you and your little ones.

For me, it’s breastfeeding, but for you it might be formula feeding. That’s OK. For me, it’s pram and occasional baby wearing, for you it might be just one or the other. That’s OK. For me it’s breastfeeding on demand and baby led weaning (with some spoon feeding in there too), for you it might be a feeding schedule and all purées. That’s OK. For me it’s sleeping in a cradle in our room, then in a cot in her own room, for you it might be co-sleeping. That’s OK. For me it’s feed and cuddle to sleep, then gently teach to self settle, for you it might be controlled crying. That’s OK too. I don’t mind how you parent; as long as you love your baby and are doing what works for you and your family.

My choices might change as time goes on, and so might yours. But that’s OK! It’s hard enough caring for a baby – so just do what works!

image

3 comments

  1. December McIntyre · July 14, 2015

    Perfect advice. I remember a mom telling me this right before I gave birth to my daughter and it was probably the most simple yet most important advice I received throughout my whole experience with a newborn.

    • hanmadestuff · July 14, 2015

      Yes, it’s so simple isn’t it. I think sometimes we over complicate things. Thanks for your comment 😊

  2. Pingback: Some helpful parenting resources. | Han Made

Leave a Reply

