Baby food.

We’re feeding our daughter a mixture of puréed/mashed foods and finger foods that she can feed herself.

image

I love baby led weaning (BLW) for many reasons. It teaches chewing before swallowing, which is supposed to minimises the risk of choking. It develops fine motor control. It teaches independence and autonomy. It grows self regulation and minimises overeating.

I like the purées because there is so much less mess! I often go through three changes of clothes a day when I let my girl feed herself (even when I use a fancy-plastic-catcher-bib!)

Some of Elsie’s favourite foods are lamb chops (she mainly just sucks the juice out of them), brocholi, mashed pumpkin and sweet potato, mashed banana mixed with avocado, chicken, and strawberries. She even likes curries! She tolerates Greek yoghurt – the face she makes when I give her the first spoonful is hilarious!

How do you feed your baby? What are their favourite foods?

2 comments

  1. Keeping up with the Joneses · July 16, 2015

    How fun! Elsie looks to be enjoying her food! I have tried a bit of BLW and puréed foods, and Maddi isn’t a fan of either! She will tolerate puréed pumpkin or sweet potato. I can’t wait until she enjoys food 🙂

    • hanmadestuff · July 16, 2015

      She’ll get there. It took Elsie a while to get into it too.

Leave a Reply

