Gold Christmas Garland.

I love Christmas. I love most things about it (except for how much money is spent and wasted – is Christmas really just about presents?). I love that Christmas is about the incarnation, Immanuel – God is with us. I love spending time with family and friends. I love all the food. I love looking at the lights, making presents, and decorating the house (which is what this post is all about).

I wanted to make some sort of sparkly gold garland to string up at home, but I wasn’t really sure what I wanted. I saw a few different ones on Pinterest, but none really took my fancy. So I wandered into Spotlight and spent half an hour browsing the craft isles. I finally found some shiny gold and some sparkly cardboard, and a big circle hole punch (I thought a big star would be better, but in the end I really liked the simplicity of circles).

When I got home I cut a bazillion circles out (and some that weren’t quite circles):

imageThen I went to my mum’s house and used her sewing machine to sew down the middles and join them together into one long chain.

imageI really like them. They’re so shiny and bright and Christmas-ey!

image I ended up blue-tacking them to the wall, because I couldn’t get them all to just hang nicely and all be facing the right way. They kept spinning around so you’d see lots of white backs. But then it got really hot one day and most of them fell down, so I got less precious and just let them hang how they would.

Mum made me this angel ages ago. I think she’s really sweet:

imageAnd here’s my Christmas tree. It’s a Norfolk Island Pine in a pot. It lives outside most of the year but we bring it inside for Christmas:

imageHappy Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

