Running.

I started running properly (as in doing it 2-3 times a week) last summer to improve my fitness. Over winter it dwindled away because it was just too cold at 7 am. It was also too dark (I gave up after I tripped badly when running on a too-dark morning.

But I’ve started again this spring. I’ve been doing couch to 5K to get me started, which I’ve found so helpful. I’m using a free app on my phone called simple C25K (which is very simple). I’m now up to the last week (week 9) where I warm up walking for 5 minutes, then jog non-stop for 30 (which is supposed to be about 5 km). After I finish this week I’ll move onto using RunKeeper so I can track my speed and distance better.

Apart from an occasionally slightly sore knee, and an achilles that sometimes pulls, I’ve feet great! Running really wakes me up and makes me happy. I’ve lost a little bit of weight and feel more toned overall. There are tons of other benefits of running. My two favourites from this list are the energy boost and the stress relief it brings. Do you run? What do you like about it?

Here’s a great infographic about running:

Get health and fitness tips at Greatist.com

5 comments

  1. Chocolate Covered Race Medals · November 15, 2013

    I am absolutely a runner and love most everything about it. The way it makes me feel, how it can turn ANY bad day around, the fresh air. You name it I love it.

  2. jackieoutrunning · November 15, 2013

    I am a runner. I like how much stronger and healthier I feel and how running a marathon has made me feel like I can accomplish anything.

  3. Lisa · November 15, 2013

    Good job hannah!! My problem is that once I finished my couch to 5k programme I found it hard to keep up with runs – cause I didn’t have any structured runs to keep up with. I started doing “a quicker 5 k” and have found thing helpful. I need some more practice – I’m still so slow!!

    • hanmadestuff · November 15, 2013

      Oh that’s a good idea! I find structure helps. I definitely need to increase my speed too. But now that I’m back into it I’m loving it!

  4. Pingback: Short hair and I don’t even care! | Han Made

Leave a Reply

