Chocolate sourdough muffins.

IMG_20131011_173355

I made these muffins a week ago and really liked them except for one thing. I substituted coconut oil for olive. But it was much too strong. So now I’ve put back the olive oil, which makes a big improvement. I also didn’t use any orange flavour, but that was just because I didn’t have any oranges! I think it would taste nice (I love jaffa lollies). I iced them with my favourite icing and they were yum.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup active sourdough starter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup gluten free flour blend
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1 cup rapadura
  • 1/2 cup rice malt syrup or honey
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 cup cocoa
  • 4 eggs

Instructions:

  1. Combine the sourdough starter, flour and milk in a large bowl and leave overnight.
  2. Preheat oven to 180°C and grease 2 12 hole cupcake trays.
  3. In a clean bowl, mix rapadura, rice malt syrup, butter/oil, extract, salt, baking soda and cocoa together. (I did this by hand).
  4. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
  5. Gently stir the chocolate mixture into the starter mixture until smooth.
  6. Pour into cupcake pans and bake for about 20 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean.
  7. Cool on wire racks completely before icing with the best icing ever!

 

3 comments

  1. Rebecca Rockefeller, Rock Farmer · October 18, 2013

    Thank you so much for giving these a try! I’m glad they worked out for you.

    • hanmadestuff · October 18, 2013

      Thanks for sharing the recipe in the first place. I loved them so much I think they’ve become my go-to choc muffin recipe! Next time I’ll try them with the orange added.

  2. Pingback: New and improved chocolate sourdough muffins. | Han Made

Leave a Reply

