My favourite icing.

I love baking cupcakes. I think the best kinds of cupcakes are frosted ones. I’m not a real fan of normal buttercream icing, but I found this recipe and thought I’d try it. I changed the method a bit, cause the first time I made it the mixture separated. The surprise ingredient is flour (although I swapped this for a gluten-free alternative).

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup castor sugar
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot (they used flour, but I wanted gluten-free)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened and cut into cubes

Instructions: 

  1. In a saucepan, combine 1/4 cup of milk, arrowroot and vanilla and whisk to form a thick paste.
  2. Over medium heat, slowly add the remaining milk while whisking constantly, until the mixture comes to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat to low and continue whisking until the mixture starts to thicken slightly.
  4. Remove the pan from heat and keep whisking. I had to swap the whisk for a spatula as it got so thick.
  5. Let the mixture cool to room temperature.
  6. In stand mixer with paddle, cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, and there is no graininess left.
  7. Add the completely cooled milk mixture and beat until it is fully combined and looks like whipped cream.
  8. Spread onto cupcakes, and sprinkle (or dip into) sprinkles.

IMG_20130927_175634 2That’s it! I think it’s the best icing ever. You should try it.

Leave a Reply

