My gluten-free flour blend.

I’ve recently gone gluten-free to try to improve my hay fever (I hate spring). It’s actually working! I’m still sneezing a bit, and get the odd itchy eye, but it’s not as bad as last year. Anyway, I’ve been experimenting with lots of gluten-free baking (as you might have noticed). I’ve found a few helpful blogs and sites, my favourite so far is gluten free goddess. She has a page with lots of tips for baking gluten-free, which I found very helpful. I slightly adapted her basic blend, and here’s what I came up with:

  • 1 cup millet flour 
  • 1 cup potato starch 
  • 1/3 cup buckwheat flour 
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum 

I really wanted to use sorghum flour (as she suggested) but I couldn’t find it anywhere in town. When I get hold of it I’ll try it.

I’ve used this blend a few times for baking cupcakes, and it is actually quite good (nothing compares to normal white gluten-ey flour though). If I can reduce my hay fever symptoms I’m happy to go without gluten. Anything’s worth a try!

IMG_20130217_133754

(A funny photo is better than no photo!)

Leave a Reply

