Sourdough pancakes.

For a few days this week I’ve been using my new brown rice sourdough starter to make pancakes for breakfast. Sourdough really does make the best pancakes. They’re the fluffiest, softest pancakes ever, and there’s a nice hint of sourness which you can hardly taste. They’re great with just butter or maple syrup, but I’ve also made them with banana and with cheese. Here’s what I do:

Pour about 1 cup of sourdough starter into a medium bowl.

Add 2 tablespoons of coconut flour, 1 egg, 1 tablespoon natural yoghurt, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1-2 teaspoons liquid stevia, a pinch of salt, and 1/2 teaspoon each of baking soda and powder. Whisk together well.

Heat a large frying pan on medium heat. Pour batter into 2-3 pancakes and cook for about 2-3 minutes before flipping and cooking other side.

IMG_20130626_083351

If you want to add banana or cheese (or berries or pretty much anything else you can think of), sprinkle them onto the uncooked side of the pancake before flipping.

Eat with some bacon, maple syrup, butter, natural yoghurt or any other topping you enjoy.

IMG_20130626_083610Bacon really is the best!

5 comments

  1. Ali J · July 12, 2013

    Hi Han, I have never thought of sourdough pancakes but want to try cos I love sourdough and pancakes! I have a million questions though. Is a plain wheat sourdough ok? Can I use normal flour instead of coconut (I know quantities can be different)? Can I omit the stevia cos I think it sux? And why do you need the additional rising agents? Not meaning to sound critical, I just want them for breakfast with bacon and maple syrup!

    • hanmadestuff · July 12, 2013

      Hi Ali, I’m sure you can make them with normal wheat sourdough and flour. I think you might need a bit more flour though. Play around with the amounts till you get a consistency you like (I like mine fairly runny). I only add stevia sometimes anyway. I’ve made them with and without the baking soda/powder and they both work, but they’re just fluffier with them.
      Hope this helps. Let me know how they work out!

  2. Pingback: Banana pancakes. | Han Made
  3. Pingback: Cheesy pancakes. | Han Made
  4. Pingback: Sourdough Starter – New Zealand culture | Richard's Blog

Leave a Reply

