Homemade spaghetti bolognese.

IMG_20121017_143039

This is my trusty recipe for making a tasty, healthy spaghetti bolognese. I make a big batch of it, and freeze it in portions. It’s great for those nights where you just don’t feel like cooking, but still want to eat something good. It’s also super easy. Here’s what I do:

IMG_20121017_114107

Ingredients: 

  • 1 kg beef mince 
  • 1 500 g packet of red/yellow lentils, soaked overnight
  • 2 brown onions
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 2 medium zucchini
  • 2 carrots
  • 4 stalks of celery
  • 2 red/yellow capsicum
  • 2 cans chopped tomatos
  • 2 cans whole peeled tomatos
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 cup chicken stock/bone broth
  • large handful of herbs: fresh parsley, oregano, basil

Method: 

IMG_20121017_122020

  1. Chop veggies. I usually start with garlic and ginger because I like to sauté them first.
  2. Sauté veggies in some olive oil. I start with onion and garlic, then add the rest of them until they’re soft.
  3. Add mince beef and cook until browned. Then cook for 20 minutes longer (I think that makes it taste better).
  4. Add lentils, canned tomatoes, tomato paste, herbs, stock, sugar and seasoning and let simmer for 1-2 hours, or until there’s not too much excess liquid.
  5. Pour into containers and freeze.

IMG_20121017_165127If I feel like a gluten-free spag-bol, I use a vegetable peeler to make strip of zucchini that I use instead of pasta. I peel them into a saucepan of hot bolognese sauce, mix them around for a few minutes till they’re ‘al dente’.

Leave a Reply

