Creamy vanilla bean ice cream.

I don’t really have to eat dairy-free, I just don’t tend to eat a whole lot of it. I don’t really drink milk or even put milk in my tea. I don’t eat ice cream much. I like cheese, but don’t tend to eat it often. Yoghurt is about the only dairy I eat regularly.

But then Sam decided he wanted to eat vita brits with banana and milk for breakfast. So now we need to have milk in the fridge.

And then I made my favourite chocolate avocado mousse cake, and had 6 left over egg yolks.

Then I bought some cream, just because I thought I’d like to make some ice cream.

I got this recipe from a cookbook I have, called Le Cordon Bleu Desserts. It came in a set of 20 books, which are really great, but I’ve only made a few things from them so far. Here’s what I did:

IMG_20130522_095215

Ingredients: 

  • 6 egg yolks
  • 100 grams castor sugar (I used dextrose)
  • 375 ml milk
  • 1 vanilla pod, split lengthways
  • 125 ml thick cream

Method: 

  1. Whist the egg yolks and sugar (dextrose) in a heat proof bowl until thick and creamy and almost white. 
  2. Bring the milk and vanilla pod slowly to the boil in a heavy based pan.
  3. Gradually whisk the boiling milk into the eggs and sugar, then transfer the mixture to a clean pan.
  4. Stir mixture constantly with wooden spoon over low heat for about 5 minutes, or until the custard thickly coats the back of the spoon. Don’t let the mixture boil, or it will separate.
  5. Pour mixture through a fine strainer into a clean bowl. Place bowl in sink of iced water to cool.
  6. When the custard is cold, stir in the cream, then pour the mixture into an ice cream machine and churn for for 10-20 minutes, or until the ice cream holds its own shape.
  7. Pour into container and freeze for 3-4 hours or overnight.

This is seriously the best vanilla ice cream I’ve had. Go make some!

Leave a Reply

