Coconut-vanilla ice cream.

Some people say ice cream is only for summer. I say ice cream is for every time! I’ll eat ice cream in the middle of winter, and even claim it warms me up (probably all that sugar).

I really love ice cream. I used to go for a walk every other day to the ice cream shop when I was on uni holidays. I justified eating all that ice cream by walking the 3km to the shop and back.

Now that I’ve decided to quit sugar, and more importantly quit fructose, ice cream presents a problem. All commercial ice cream contains heaps of sugar (as well as lots of other nasties). Even homemade ice cream recipes contain heaps of sugar (or honey or other natural sweetener, which is full of fructose anyway).

So I adapted this recipe for a dairy-free fructose-free ice cream. Here’s my version:

Ingredients: 

  • 2 x 290 ml cans full fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup dextrose*
  • 2-3 tablespoons vanilla extract

Method: 

  1. Whisk ingredients together until dextrose is dissolved.
  2. Add to ice cream maker and follow its directions.
  3. Allow to sit in freezer for 1-2 hours before eating.

Here’s a picture of my finished product:

image

Easy! This ice cream tastes lovely, it’s very creamy and coconut-ey. There’s a fairly strong vanilla flavour in there too, which I like.

* I’ve used dextrose because it is 100% glucose (no fructose, which is what I am more worried about). I wouldn’t eat too much of this at once though, as it will still raise the blood sugar levels. Also it’s not a natural sweetener, which I don’t love. Next time I’ll try to use stevia.

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: Homemade stevia extract. | Han Made

Leave a Reply

