I quit sugar.

Well, I am in the process of cutting out sugar, and eventually quitting it. I’ve recently been noticing how addicted I am to it. I got home from work the other day, and finished off half a block of chocolate in a few minutes. I have no self-control when cakes and slices are around. I feel bloated all the time, but also always hungry. So I read I quit sugar by Sarah Wilson, and was convinced that I needed to quit.

It’s a shame, because I love baking and making sweet things.

The first week involves just cutting back on my sugar consumption. I’m actually amazed at how well I’ve been able to do this. I’m still eating 1 piece of fruit a day, and I did have a couple of pieces of brownie my friend made, but it tasted excessively sweet (and its only been a week!) And that’s all the sugar I’ve had. Usually I would eat a lot more than that.

Now I’m starting to look into all the hidden sugar I eat. I don’t eat low-fat foods, so no sneaky sugar in there, but I’m sure I’m eating things like sauces and dressings that are hiding lots of sugar.

7 comments

  1. Andrea · May 8, 2013

    What helps to cut out unnecessary sugars (and salts for that matter) is making a lot if stuff yourself! I even seen recipes for things like ketchup! A lot of products have high fructose corn syrup too. Let me know how it works out for you I’d like to see what the benefits are and how hard it is to keep with it!

    • hanmadestuff · May 8, 2013

      Thanks for your comment Andrea! I try to make lots of stuff myself, but I haven’t gone as far as making my own ketchup (we call it tomato sauce here in Aus) yet. I mostly just try not to eat it. I will keep posting updates on here about how I go. I’m sure I will feel a lot better the more sugar I cut out!

      • Andrea · May 8, 2013

        Yea my biggest thing is time.. I’m hoping after I finish university I can have more time to cook! Before I started I used to make dinner everyday!! Haha sometime time is a huge factor 😦 but yea I can’t wait to read more about your journey!

      • Andrea · May 8, 2013

        By the way I just realized that you were the one who posted this haha of course you make lots of stuff yourself!! It’s called Han made!! Haha sorry I don’t always pay attention Lolololol

      • hanmadestuff · May 8, 2013

        Haha that’s ok! I’ve only just started making lots of stuff myself. And yeah I agree, time is a huge factor! I’m lucky I have 2 days off during the week, otherwise there’s no way I could make all the things I do. I’m sure you’ll get there soon 🙂

  2. Pingback: Homemade muesli. | Han Made
  3. Pingback: Coconut-vanilla ice cream. | Han Made

Leave a Reply

