Lemon.

I really love lemon. I have a strange relationship with straight lemon – it makes me pull a funny face and sends shivers down my spine, but I keep going back for more. I love lemon most when its baked in things. Lemon meringue pie, lemon slice, lemon and poppy seed muffins, lemon sorbet, lemon delicious pudding, tangy lemon curd… (I could keep going, it’s pretty much guaranteed that I’ll love anything with lemon in it).

The best lemon thing I’ve ever had was the lemon tart pie at one of my favourite cafes in town. It’s just right. Not too tangy, but enough tang to be worth it. The pastry is perfect, crumbly and buttery, the filling is just so creamy and smooth. Once, my mum bought a whole pie, enough for 8 of us. It was delicious!

I made a slice called tangy lemon squares the other day. It was good. Almost as good as my favourite lemon tart pie. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 125 g butter, softened
  • 40 g icing sugar
  • 185 g plain flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 220 g caster sugar
  • 2 teaspoons finely grated lemon rind (although I put in about 4)
  • 125 ml lemon juice

Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180°C. Line base of medium slice pan with baking paper.
  2. Beat butter and icing sugar in bowl of electric mixer until smooth. Stir in 150 g of the flour. Press mixture over base of pan. Bake base 15 minutes or until browned lightly.
  3. Meanwhile, whisk eggs, castor sugar, remaining flour, rind and juice in bowl until combined; pour over hot base.
  4. Bake slice another 20 minutes or until firm. Cool slice in pan before cutting. Dust with extra sifted icing sugar.

I got this recipe from the cookbook “Easy cakes and biscuits” by the AWW (here it is on their website).

And here is the finished product:

imageVery easy to make; and very, very good.

6 comments

  1. Ruth m · April 7, 2013

    Yum! I have a recipe to give you, if I can find it! Ruth

  2. Beth · April 7, 2013

    LEMON TART PIE!!!!!!

    • hanmadestuff · April 7, 2013

      Now I want to try the lemon thing at your new favourite place!

  3. Pingback: Homemade soap. | Han Made
  4. Pingback: Lemon tart. | Han Made

Leave a Reply

