Sourdough is great! It’s a way of fermenting grains to make them more digestible. It also makes great tasting bread. Read this and this for more info. I’ve made sourdough with wholemeal wheat flour a few years ago, which was great. I had it going for about 6 months before my mum chucked it in the bin when I was away. She thought it stunk a bit.

Lately I’ve been trying to cut down on the amount of gluten I eat, cause it makes me feel a bit gross. Bloated etc etc. So I decided to try making my own brown rice sourdough starter. Here’s where I got the recipe.

My starter after 2 days.

My starter on day 2.

Ingredients: 

  • 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup filtered water
  • tablespoon water kefir (optional)

Method: 

  1. Whisk flour and water in small jug until well combined.
  2. Pour into glass jar and cover with hanky and secure with rubber band.
  3. Leave in a warm place and feed again (the same amounts) about 12 hours later.
  4. (I feed my starter morning and night with the same quantities of flour and water.)
  5. If after a few days the starter isn’t bubbling much, add a tablespoon of water kefir and stir in with the flour and water when you feed it.
  6. By 5-7 days it should be ready to make pancakes, bread, cupcakes etc…
IMG_20130624_125416

My starter, boosted with water kefir, on day 5.

Stay tuned for some exciting gluten-free sourdough recipes!

